Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs

Maslow’s hierarchy of needs is a theory of motivation developed by psychologist Abraham Maslow in the 1940s. It posits that there are five types of human needs, and each must be met before the next can be satisfied. The hierarchy of needs is often visualized as a pyramid:

  • Physiological: air, water, food, physical health, etc.
  • Security: safety and stability
  • Social: relationships
  • Esteem: prestige and accomplishment
  • Self-actualization: achieving your full potential

Maslow's Hierarchy of Needs

Related Content:

Back to Glossary